Sra. Isabel Amaral Guterres Metin Dua, Bebonuk Dili, Timor-Leste 25 April 2006

H.E.Kofi Annan Secretary-General UN Secretariat New York, NY 10017 USA

Dear Mr. Secretary-General,

We are writing as former members of the Timor-Leste Commission for Reception, Truth and Reconciliation (CAVR) to inquire about the fate of the CAVR Report 'Chega!' within the United Nations following its presentation by President Kay Rala Xanana Gusmao on 20 January 2006.

We are some of the over 500 people, both Timorese and internationals, who contributed to the production of the Report. Under the direction of the CAVR National Commissioners, we undertook this innovative but demanding work for over four years and carried it out in cooperation with many thousands of East Timorese who entrusted their painful experiences to us in the expectation that their story would be heard and responded to in many parts of the world, not least the UN which has been bound up so closely with East Timor's recent history.

The requirement that the Report be presented to you as Secretary-General was the initiative of the Parliament of Timor-Leste which amended legislation governing CAVR to include this provision. We believe that the legislators intend that the Report should be passed on to the UN and its relevant organs through your good offices and that this was also in keeping with the requirement that the Report be publicly disseminated. With great respect we wish to ask, therefore, whether you will refer the report to the bodies recommended in Chega!, namely the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Committee on Decolonisation and the Commission on Human Rights (now the UN Human Rights Council)?

In his letter of 20 January 2006, President Kay Rala Xanana Gusmao pointed out that laws and rights at the heart of the international system were violated during the East Timor conflict and that steps must be taken to learn from that experience in order to avoid a recurrence of "this sad chapter of history...elsewhere". We agree wholeheartedly with that objective and it inspired us to complete our mandate to the very best of our ability. We strongly believe that formal discussion of the Report in UN forums will contribute to that important objective, in Timor-Leste and Indonesia, and also in other parts of the world. On the other hand, it would be profoundly disappointing if our efforts on behalf of universal human rights were shelved.

In closing, we take this opportunity to acknowledge the historic contribution you made as Secretary-General to the resolution of the conflict in Timor-Leste - a

contribution recorded for posterity in the Report - and to thank you for the support the UN has given Timor-Leste since then, including to us during the production of the CAVR Report.

Yours sincerely,

Sra Isabel Amaral Guterres

Cc. SRSG Mr. Sukehiro Hasegawa Ms Louise Arbour, HCHR

The following ex-CAVR staff members have added their names:

- 1. Antonio Alves
- 2. Patrick Walsh
- 3. José Caetano Guterres
- 4. Kieran Dwyer
- 5. Ligia Hermenegildo da costa
- 6. Anthony Goldstone
- 7. Horacio de Almeida
- 8. Galuh Wandita
- 9. Angelo Madeira
- 10. Patrick Burgess
- 11. Francisca da silva
- 12. Susana Barnes
- 13. Horacio Abilio
- 14. Benjamin Larke
- 15. Norberta Gomes
- 16. Akihisa Matsuno
- 17. David Alves Lopes
- 18. Gerry van Klinken
- 19. Dulce Trindade da costa
- 20. Helene van Klinken
- 21. Florival A.dos Santos
- 22. Titi Irawati
- 23. Celina Martins
- 24. Simon Poppelwell
- 25. Celina da Costa Jeronimo
- 26. Miki Salman
- 27. José Custodio Marcal
- 28. Matheos Messakh
- 29. Cathy Molnar
- 30. Armando G.dos Anjos Marques
- 31. Stephen Malloch
- 32. Ana Paula Maia
- 33. Nugroho Katjasungkana
- 34. Remigio Soares
- 35. Valentina Yulitah Dyah Utari

- 36. Noemia Gomes Pereira
- 37. Robin Taudevin
- 38. Cancio Ximenes Soares
- 39. Karen Campbell-Nelson
- 40. Daniel Gomes
- 41. Christine Vertucci
- 42. Fulgencio Aquino Vieira
- 43. Douglas Kammen
- 44. Helio Freitas
- 45. Riamirta Dwiandini
- 46. Abel dos Santos
- 47. Inge Lempp
- 48. Alvaro da Silva
- 49. Delene Cuddihy
- 50. Elsa doRosario Viegas da costa
- 51. Ross Clark
- 52. Mariano N.Carvalho
- 53. Phyllis Ferguson
- 54. Bernadete Jong dos Santos
- 55. Ian White
- 56. Adriano dos santos
- 57. Emma Coupland
- 58. Cristovão Perreira
- 59. Teodoro Soares
- 60. Gil Barros
- 61. Elisio Pinto Guterres Soares
- 62. Manuel da Cruz
- 63. Apolinario da Silva Gusmão
- 64. José Virginia R.M.Cabral
- 65. Jaimito Candido da Costa